Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this contemporary world, many scientific fields have evolved over the years and one of which is genetic engineering. Considering this, it is a common argument that some believe there is threat than improvement to human life. This essay will cover both sides of this argument before deducing a conclusion. There are a significant number of benefits from genetic engineering that certainly embrace human life. Mainly, the first and foremost benefit is the medical or health support harvested from this field. To explain, it has made a breakthrough in medical field by growing human organs that could be potentially used for organ transplant. For example, BBC in recent medical documentary mentioned European hospitals are seeing an increasing demand for organs and may legalise using genetically grown organs for transplant by year 2025. Furthermore, genetic engineering is helping the field of agriculture in producing modified seeds for farming. Genetically modified seeds are resilient to drastic climate changes; perhaps, playing an important role in meeting the world’s food demand. Despite the benefits, there is a concern on genetic modification which cannot be ignored. The main concern from some people is that they fear such artificial modification will create global unbalance. However useful the genetic modification is, it could create ecological unbalance creating species of dangerous kind that could be a threat to all life on earth. For example, the recent Covid pandemic is popularly claimed by many scientists as a laboratory made virus, causing several thousand deaths. In conclusion, after discussing the benefits and the impact of genetic engineering, it is logical to conclude that the benefits overshadow the impact. It is evident that the advantages of genetic engineering are immense while the threats can be well manged if strict measures are in place.