Generally, in England, it is the practice of many senior citizens, to stay in an elderly care home, where they have access to medical facilities in the latter stage of their lives.

Generally, in England, it is the practice of many senior citizens, to stay in an elderly care home, where they have access to medical facilities in the latter stage of their lives. Most of the time, the expenses for these services are had to be borne by the government. Therefore, many ask the question, whether this expense should be taken care of only by the state, or the family of the respective senior citizen? which, in my opinion, should be a collective effort by both parties. Firstly, these elderly citizens had spent much of their young lives serving the nation, maybe even during the world wars, sacrificing countless years of quality time, that could have been conveniently spent with their loved ones. Instead, they choose to work tirelessly, to bring this country to such a developed stage, where the present generation could carry out their lives with less hazel. Furthermore, I believe having the opportunity to spend the latter part of their lives, with like-minded people from their own generation, would positively contribute, on their psychological well-being, undoubtedly. On the other hand, a significant investment must be borne by the government, using public tax money, to maintain these facilities in decent shape, in turn, putting a huge burden on the earning class, by having to pay huge tax money annually which, could be resulted in, the present earning class putting a less effort to go the additional mile, in long run, resulting in a lesser contribution towards the increase of gross domestic production (GDP) of the country. In conclusion, considering the above-discussed points, it is my opinion that, the facilities currently provided for the benefit of aged citizens, should be continued, while an added contribution from their families, in order to reduce the strain on public tax money.