Friendships can be very meaningful and special, but also very complicated. What are the qualities of a great friend? What are some things that can weaken a close relationship over time?

Although Friendships in the modern age play a deep and intricate role in an individual's life, they can be at times get very complex.  I personally seek attributes such as loyalty, honesty, trust, and transparency in a successful friendship but with the passage of time,  friendship can get tested due to factors like clash of interest, jealousy. Throughout my life, I have got an opportunity to meet and socialize with many like-minded people. For a truly great friend, not only having a similar mutual interest is a necessity but also loyalty, honesty, openness, and trust. Sometimes people befriend for personal gains, such relationships are fragile and would break during strenuous scenarios. When one needs a friend for support and advice during difficult phases in life, I want to reach a person who would not only give fair feedback but also offer anchorage in such testing times. To summarize, these characteristics define a great friendship that would have noteworthy meaning. There are various scenarios under which even great friendship can be tested like contentious interest or jealousy. For example, if 2 of these friends would be in a situation if competing for the same job, become coworkers and rivals in a competitive professional setting, or become part of a love triangle. Although great friendship can survive such events it can certainly be weakened. Similarly, we live in a materialistic society, where every individual is in pursuit of accomplishing greater wealth and success for hedonistic happiness. If one friend has far more wealth or success as compared to another,  jealousy would be bound to come and perhaps could even result in the permanent closure of friendship between given individuals. I think true friendship can last such testing scenarios. Although we can be friends with many people, one which is truly special to our hearts will be very few and should be valued appropriately.