Friends should have good characteristics. Do you agree? Discuss.

People always say that “It’s good to have someone at your back. ”. No matter it’s our family or friends, it gives you the sense of “you are secured”. In one whole lifetime, we get to introduce ourselves to many people, good or bad, which comes to the point. Must a friend have good characteristics only then they are considered as a “good” friend? Well, there have been loads of arguments about this topic, but having a good character would be easier to communicate with and someone to cheer you up, on the other hand, there is no rule stating that a friend must have a good characteristic. We all know communication is the key to any relationship, nevertheless between family members, friends, and even colleagues. The easier to communicate, the quicker things get done. We find many people argue nowadays and we shouldn’t foresee that as we all now have lesser patience compare to the past where got the whole day to communicate. Even a simple reminder from our mother we would take it as a nag, what if this implies to our friends? A friend who is easy to communicate with brings a lot of benefits, as lesser arguments, jobs get done easily, and lesser misunderstandings. As such, a friend with great communication skills and at the same time knows how to communicate well without hurting one and another makes a good friend. Moreover, having a joyful friend would effortlessly make your day. The sun will always shine after the pouring rain. We all need a friend who can bring positivity to our downtimes. They tend to bring joy every time by making up jokes, doing tricks, and more other things just to cheer us up. Their smiles just made the stressful times in our student life vanished. A friend who spreads positivity like confetti is just so rare to find nowadays, and people don’t appreciate them that much as they keep spreading happiness but no one is cheering them up at their darkest times. With that, a friend who has a great sense of humour makes a great friend. Furthermore, to be a good friend doesn’t need to have a good characteristic. There is no rule is been set in the entire universe that a friend must have a good characteristic. Having a friend is like having someone to back you up and at the same time filling up holes for each other. For example, one of them is very shy and afraid to speak to strangers while the other is not afraid to socialize which then makes both a good pair of friends. In conclusion, having a good character would be easier to communicate with and someone to cheer you up but at the same time, no rule is been stated that it’s just to have a good characteristic. Don’t judge a book by its cover, and we don’t define “friend” based on their characteristic. A friend is someone who got your back whenever you feel alone, wasted, and even tired. They don’t do things that could hurt you and always think of you.