Some people think that human history has been a journey from ignorance to knowledge. Others argue that this underestimates the achievements of ancient cultures, and overvalues our achievements?

Human history is divided into a plethora of chapters, each chapter has some learnings, knowledge and values in it. I partially agree with the statement that human history has been a journey from ignorance to knowledge. Human history is not completely perfect but it cannot be said that it was full of ignorance. When we talk about the indian history we see that there were warriors like king ashoka who himself killed millions of people and at the end phase of his life he decided to live his rest of the life in a more peaceful manner that made him join the religion of buddhism. That resulted in the spread of Buddhism across the world, it was not only a religion but it was an ideology which motivated billions of people to adopt environment friendly methods which are used till now. According to some historians till now the scriptures are helping us in forming the different medicines. Similarly, world war1 and world war 2 had affected the economy, the people and the social relationships between many countries but on the other hand many historians say that it was the time when numerous inventions were discovered and made like the toaster, weapons, electric appliances, chocolate etc. We should equally value the achievements made in the past and present because these achievements keep on getting better than their previous versions. Also it motivates human beings to keep on discovering and generating knowledge for the future generations. So it is clearly unjustifiable to say that the journey is from ignorance to knowledge. The reality is the journey never ends. It is static in nature that makes it more beautiful and everlasting.