Fossil fuels are the main source of energy around the world. However, people are being encouraged to use alternative energy sources such as wind energy, solar energy, and so on. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays continuous supply of energy is extremely necessary for the smooth functioning of everything. The world is highly dependent on fossil fuels for the production of different types of energy. Depletion of the natural resources of fossil fuels has encouraged the use of alternative forms of energy namely wind energy and solar energy. In my opinion, this is a positive development because most of the alternative energy sources are eco-friendly and available in abundance. Formation of natural resources like fossil fuels takes a lot of years. Worldwide population growth and increased consumption has led to the depletion of these resources. People require air conditioning at home as well as in offices. Cars and aeroplanes consume a great deal of fuel and release poisonous gases into the atmosphere leading to air pollution. All these man made dangers have resulted in alarming effects of global warming making it extremely necessary to find another source of energy. Wind energy and solar energy are environment friendly and practically available for free of cost. Though infrastructure required to make wind mills is costly, it is a one time investment for generating huge amount of electricity for several years. For example, in Karnataka state of India, all mountains surrounding national highways are fitted with giant wind mills which makes it scenic as well as useful. Solar panels can be installed on roof tops and used for street lights and water heaters at home. It is widely argued that sunlight is only available for a limited period of time throughout the day and can not be used during winter season which is true to some extent. However, the benefits offered by using solar energy outweigh its limitations. For example, I have installed solar panels on my terrace and it has reduced our electricity consumption by 15% per month. In conclusion, though fossil fuels are considered as a primary source of energy, it is the need of the era to switch to alternative energy sources such as wind energy and solar energy because of environmental reasons. I believe that it is certainly a positive development.