Fossil fuel, such as coal, oil and natural gas, is extensively used in many countries which cause harms to the environment. The use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, however, is being encouraged in many countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the increase of the world population, the extensive usage of non-eco-friendly source of energy is dangerously harming our environment. This fact encourages many countries to invest in finding ways to limit the demand on fossil fuels. After years of research, scientists discovered that generating power by using green resources is the best solution to preserve our planet. Despite the high cost of these alternative resources, I strongly believe that their impact will bring lots of benefits to our environment. On the one hand, renewable energy technologies use resources straight from the environment to generate power. These green resources will not run out because they are generated by natural sources like the sun and the wind. To illustrate, wind turbines rotate and produce energy as a result of natural air movement. In addition, the funds required for extraction of fossil fuels could be saved by using eco-friendly resources. To sum up, extraction, which is harmful to the environment, is not required to produce sustainable energy in contrary to fossil fuels. Another compelling reason for my view reside in the fact that low level of carbon emissions are produced by using green resources. Whilst, burning fossil fuels is a major factor that contributed to the climate change due to high levels of carbon dioxide emissions, sustainable resources will help to reduce the pollution level on our planet. To give an example, in countries where these alternative sources are adopted the level of pollution has dropped to their lowest level. To add, ozone layer depletion started to recover after the introduction of these resources. Therefore, in order to save our habitat usage of energy with low carbon emissions is an urgent action that should be taken worldwide. To conclude, in order to save our environment from damages caused by the extraction and the emissions of fossil fuels, quick actions should be taken by governments to switch to sustainable energy usage.