Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this.

These days, most of schools are using formal examinations to assess a student’s performance while continual assessment such as course work and projects are also becoming a commonplace. Both such systems have their strengths and weaknesses. Formal examinations are probably the most widely used method to evaluate students’ performances. They are a fair system in which students are all provided the same test materials at the same time and space. Those who advocate this system expect students working hard will be rewarded with high grades which are believed to reflect their academic knowledge. However, while some students excel in exams, others find it difficult to work under such pressure. Therefore, formal examinations may not always reflect a student’s true ability. On the other hand, continual assessment allows those students who work at a slower pace more time to work on their course work and projects. . It also encourages teamwork which is an important skill for future employment so children are able to develop comprehensively. However, since students don’t necessarily work on their projects at school, teachers may not observe the working process and thus not be able to give a satisfactory assessment. In conclusion, it is evident that both continual assessment and formal examinations are effective in different ways, but they also have weaknesses. I think in order to optimize the quality of education, both should be used to assess students’ academic performances.