Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. with this statement?

In the vast majority of countries, the formal examinations are the salient approach to measure student’s performance. Experts throughout the developed and developing world assert that it is an only appropriate way to assess it. Personally, I advocate their point of view; however, other forms of assessment are vital as well and there is a number of drawbacks of formal examinations. To begin with, the paramount advantage of formal exams is the fact that this form of assessment motivates students to learn regularly. When the eventual grade consists in 50% of results from formal examinations that are organized every month, a plethora of students find it meaningful to score high. The results of a recent research conducted by one of the highly rated high schools in Poland are exceedingly interesting. The study was that the students from one particular class did not have to take part in any exams during the period of the first semester. At the end of the year, it transpired that a considerable chunk of all these students scored approximately 30% lower than the average score of their colleagues from the other grades. The pundits from the school council deem the lack of regular reviews as the preeminent cause. However, school projects are crucial in the assessment as well. The fundamental reason is the fact that contemporarily is it immensely easy to cheat during the tests. The artifice of some students in conjunction with cutting-edge technology may be detrimental to fairness of the exams. A number of students claim that cheating these days is omnipresent and because of increasing number of new devices that allows this, it is impossible to tackle this issue. Moreover, the mentioned earlier research signified also that the experience of the students during the whole semester was much better than during a “normal” year with the formal examinations. In addition to this, because of a cornucopia of class projects, the students gained a profusion of indispensable skills such as cooperation with other people. Although there are myriads of merits that students derived from working on projects, they were not a sufficient form of assessment, because a lot of parents helped their offspring with preparing presentations. To recapitulate, it is proven that tests are a requisite form of assessment at schools. Nevertheless, other ways should not be abandoned, because they provide numerous upsides for students. The best possible maneuver that school council can make is to connect these both forms.