For an individual to be successfull in any sport, some people may think that physical strength is more essential than mental strength.

For an individual to be successfull in any sport, some people may think that physical strength is more essential than mental strength. Whereas, some may perceive mental strength as the leading source of succeeding in sports rather than physical strength. There are sports which demand physical exertion and practice for hours on end. This includes sports like football, basketball, tennis, hockey et cetera. The players of these sports seem to train their bodies physically for long periods of time. It seems to help build their skill for that particular sport. While sport like chess may be viewed as one requiring strong mental capacity. Some people may argue that only physical strength does not mean a person is likely to win in a sport and his/ her head needs to be in the game as well. It is probably the effort of putting someone's body through the vigorous physical strain that improves their chance of winning but it may seem impossible to win if you are not mentally prepared. In my opinion, both physical and mental strength are important for any sports. They may not hold equal parts in being a good sportsman but they are both significant nonetheless. I believe that a person needs to be physically fit and mentally disciplined to master a sport. If I had to choose between these two, I would lean towards mental strength more since I have seen physical fitness being focused repeatedly in any sport. Although, I've caught many trainers of different sports giving their attention towards mental wellbeing of their players. I will admit though, it is quite difficult to ascertain which aspect, either physical or mental strength takes credit for succeeding in any sport.