Flowering behaviors of durian

Flowering behaviors of durian including anatomy and morphology result in low efficient natural pollination. Bringing human to pollinate the durian flowers by hand, which increase the efficiency of pollination and fruit set is necessary. Therefore, this project aims to study of time periods of pollen tubes growth in style from stigma to ovary. Pollen tube growth by natural pollination until fruit set on 7 days after pollination was examined and compared with hand pollination, as well as comparison of pollen tube growth after hand pollination with different environments. In addition to examined on stigma receptivity and pollen viability. The results proved that hand pollination had growth of pollen tubes more than natural pollination sharply in all of 4 examined time periods with statistical significance and consequently, effected on fruit set 100 %. In different environments, variant temperature and relative humidity made the growth of pollen tubes had difference with non-statistical significance. Therefore, hand pollination can solve the failure of natural pollination problems and fruit set. Furthermore, the different environments also impact on time periods of pollen tube growth in style. The result will use to reference for the study of fruit set and fruit development, provide agriculturist will control their crops quality.