Experts argue which is the right time to teach foreign language, primary school or secondary school. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantes?

Opinions differ among the language experts as to when is the right time to teach a foreign language to children. Although students will have difficulty studying a tongue which they don’t normally speak, it will be certainly easier for them to learn it since that is the time when their brain is in a developing stage. In my opinion, learning a foreign language as early as the primary school would make them much more comfortable to speak, listen, read and write. Children start to understand the environment, languages among many other things during the early stage of their growth. This could lead to a comfortable and clear understanding of the language. For instance, English along with Hindi and Marathi are taught in schools across Mumbai; thus, it becomes simpler for children to learn the languages together than at different intervals. The early children start to learn any language, the easier it will be for them to grab hold of it. Foreign languages on the other hand are not something a child listens to quite often in his surroundings let alone speak the tongue. This could result in them facing serious difficulties associated with the language such as spelling, pronunciation, grammar, vocabulary which just adds to the complexity of learning the language. For example, pronunciation in Hindi would be simple for children if they speak the tongue but it will be difficult to understand the “nitty-gritty” along with tone, pronunciation when learning English. Learning something we don’t know will always pose a challenge since we start from the basics. Experts have different views when deciding the right age to learn a foreign langue. While children will no doubt have great strain learning the technicalities along with the usage, starting early will lead to a comfortable and clear understanding of any foreign language.