Films can tell us a lot about the country where they were made. What have you learnt about a country from watching its movie?

With the explosion of domestic film industries in this day and age, only by spending some amount of money can you easily watch films on many different flatforms. Not only for the purpose of relaxation, films also bring you various benefits such as extending horizon to new culture and enrich the use of languages. First of all, when enjoying a movie, you are able to be immersed into its world. In other words, we can travel to any extraordinary places and open the exposure to other cultures in the world. For instance, “Osin” enhances knowledge of Japanese culture with Samurai, Geisha, which are symbols of this Asian country. In addition, it also represents the characteristics of ancient women. which are persistence and bravery. , in spite of dealing with arduous situations. Secondly, watching films is an engrossing way to learn languages. Instead of studying academic use of language in books, we have a chance to extend our vocabulary in daily life through the conversations between the characters, like slang or dialects. In particular, the word “ freaking” can be found in many Hollywood's films, but it is impossible to find in a dictionary or any English course books. Furthermore, for many learners, they can improve their listening skills when practicing to watch films without subtitles. With all of the above-mentioned, films are useful tools that widen our knowledge of multi-facetted issues in life, from tradition, culture of country to upgrading our language skills.