Fathers should get paternity leave. agree or disagree?

Many now suggest that both mothers and fathers deserve leave from work after the birth of a child. In my opinion, though time off work for fathers is not as justified as it is for mothers, this policy is forward-thinking and advisable. Critics of such a policy claim that there is little physical justification for paternity leave. Few would argue that women should have time off in order to both establish an emotional connection with their child and to recover their physical strength for work. Men, however, do not suffer physical side-effects and therefore do not need time to recuperate before returning to work. They may require a period of time for emotional recovery but this claim is tenuous and difficult to support with clear evidence. Therefore, the norm in most countries is to prioritize workplace productivity and provide little or no contractually obligated paternity leave. However, fathers need time with their children and spouse to form strong emotional bonds for the good of all family members. In past generations, taking care of children and the home was the domain of mothers and men were defined primarily as earners. The recent shift in society that sees more women entering the workforce also recognizes for the emotional needs of men and its importance for the entire family unit. Research has shown that the single most important element of healthy childhood development is a loving and supportive home environment. The consequence is that fathers are now expected to be more involved in the child-rearing process. By staying home for several weeks or months after birth, they can become more active, helpful participants. In conclusion, despite the lack of physical justification, paternal leave is crucial for emotional reasons. When possible, governments and employers should advocate and extend this privilege to both parents equally.