Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays, many youngsters hesitate to enter the profession. Why is this the case, and what can be done to avoid it?

In recent times, agriculture has become the mainstay of most nations economically; however, it is observed that most young adults are reluctant to venture into the business. This is because farming is capital intensive and prone to sudden risks. This essay will discuss the stated reasons in detail and proffer solutions on how to increase the participation of youngsters in the trade. It is a well-known fact that starting up any agribusiness is pretty expensive and requires huge funding. Unfortunately, young folks are attracted to mechanized farming that needs high start-up capital, unlike subsistence farming which is affordable, to begin with. This is because the returns on subsistence farming are low and may not be commensurate with the farm's effort. For instance, numerous studies show that the returns on an average subsistent farm are 80% lower than the cost of labour expended on bringing up the farm. Again, several young adults stay away from this profession because it is high risk and prone to external influences beyond the control of the farmer. It is common knowledge that agricultural sciences are solely dependent on the weather conditions, and its success is guaranteed if all vital forces such as sunshine, rain, and even some level of humidity are constantly available. The fear of losing so much investment due to what cannot be controlled is a turn-off for youngsters. In a recent study by the Federal Ministry of Agricultural Sciences, Nigeria, it was discovered that over 85% of young rice farmers were quitted rice farming due to the recent unexpected flooding that took place in Northern Nigeria and swept away their farmlands. Fortunately, it is not all bad news; young adults can be encouraged to engage in farming once the government decides to take up funding and make loans available at low-priced interest rates. Furthermore, the government should take up the business's insurance cost and ensure farms of all young folks are insured against adverse weather conditions and natural disasters. This will go a long way in endearing the profession to younger ones.