Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

We can agree on, that technology is an inseverable part of oureveryday lives. Unfortunately, it also includes being constantly monitored. Moreover, most of the time it is happening without us even noticing. It seemswe somehow got used to the reduction of our privacy. Obviously, there are pros andcons to this subject. I have to admit, I am not really sure if the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, I would like to mention the positive side ofthis phenomenon. I am convicted, that technology brings us the feeling ofsafety. Security cameras installed everywhere, tracking of mobile devices orvarious kinds of virtual transactions, or even detecting a concrete IPaddress if needed. As well as that, fingerprint or eye screening appears to bean effective way to reduce unwanted/unrequested access. Additionally, parentscan track their children and their phone devices, so they know where exactlythey are. Maps and smart apps cooperating with GPS prevent us to get lost in areas, which are unfamiliar to us. ( I personally find extremely usefulhiking apps. ) Secondly, there are alarming side effects to the subject. AsI have mentioned above, we have become completely unaware of the fact ofbeing constantly monitored. Your browsing internet history, the places youhave been to, purchases you have done, your communication all is being kept aneye on. I have several personal experiences with suddenly popping up addsabout the products I talked about earlier the same day. Also, I was reallysurprised, when google sent me my „map review“, or the summary of places I wasin the past months. I am also aware of the cases about revealing personalcommunication with intimate details or even worse, pictures. To summarise, there is sure outstanding progress due to ourprotection and safety connected to using smart technology for monitoring. Onthe other hand, there are many questions marks what will this development bringus in the future. I am convicted, there is a huge risk that the price wepay might be too high.