Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it?

Agriculture is a pivotal sector in all the countries around the world. Growing crops and harvesting them has been a major source of employment and income generation. Many view it as an inferior profession as compared to working in big companies. In my essay, I will discuss the causes of this thinking and what measures can be taken to promote the sector. One of the main reasons for youth not opting for farming as a career option is the physical strength needed to produce crops. Farming is considered to be one of the most tedious jobs, requiring a lot of stamina and muscle. Another reason for neglecting the profession is the variable earnings. To illustrate, production of crops depends on uncontrollable factors like rain, temperature etc. These factors if not occurred in favour can spoil the crops leaving farmers with minimal income. Unfixed income and the physical hardwork required in growing crops are a drawback of the industry. However, several steps can be taken to develop interest in the primary sector. Firstly, government should educate the young generation about the importance of farming by spreading awareness. This can be done by showing advertisements on television or organizing seminars. Secondly, the government could initiate schemes to lure people. Helping them with necessities and fixed rates for the crops will attract the interest of the pupils. To conclude, agriculture sector being one of the most vital area of economy, is not preferred by youngsters due to the flexible income generation and efforts required to carry out the activities. But with the introduction of a number of schemes and providing with basic necessities, farming can become the first choice of many youngsters.