Facing Adversity Like a Champ

The question of whether we should accept the hardship or we should try to change and improve such unpleasant consequences has remained a dilemma for all of us. Although many believe that embracing the difficulties is a better solution, some argue that we should put our effort into changing the difficult situation we are facing. This essay will illustrate the good sides of both these views as I firmly believe both accepting and improving any adversity go hand in hand. On the one hand, accepting that the situation is unchangeable makes us deal with our emotions better. When facing a challenging event, our thoughts and decisions are often blurred by our negative feelings, whether it be disappointment from not getting the job we want or fear for the unforeseeable future. These emotions not only tire us but also impede us from seeing the problem as it is and finding the right solution to solve it. Therefore, I think that it is wise to welcome any hardship with open arms before assessing what we can do and what change can be made in the given conditions. On the other hand, believing strongly that we are capable of defying any adversity is also important as it shows a growth mindset, a way of thinking that allows us to surpass any challenge and maximize our potential. Firstly, assuming that it is possible to exceed any bad situation opens up our options. We will not be stuck in our hardship but rather looking for a way to better our conditions. Secondly, putting effort into changing the situation will make us feel better because no matter we succeed or not, we will know that we have already given it our best shot. In conclusion, I personally agree to both views that when dealing with any adversity, it is necessary that we should learn to accept our unsatisfactory conditions while believing that changes are possible. That is to say once we acknowledge that we are in a difficult situation, we are always capable of surpassing any challenge.