f the disadvantages of prohibiting gun usage

In numerous places around the world, gun ownership is a topic of massive controversy. Many people, especially in America feel the need to be able to keep firearms in their homes, contrary to communities in for example Europe, where citizens do not support that idea. This essay will elaborate on why banning gun ownership can lead to a decrease in the number of shootings and discuss some of the disadvantages of prohibiting gun usage by the public. On one hand, in most European countries where civil gun ownership is only allowed for very specific reasons, tend to be fewer mass shootings or crimes with fatal outcomes. In a country where firearm possession is generally opposed by the government, there tends to be a smaller number of guns in the hands of the public overall, which subsequently can lead to a smaller quantity of shootings. On the other hand, in places where public security is generally lower, people might feel the need to be able to protect themselves and their loved ones in case of a crime occurring. In countries where there is centuries long history of gun ownership, a sudden banning of firearms can also lead to a situation where legal users no longer have access to weapons, while criminals are still able to source firearms through the black market, lowering security in the community. Overall, I think legislators should make efforts to try minimize gun use in for example the U. S. but they should not act suddenly as that could lead to horrific outcomes. Laws and processes should at least try and make obtaining a firearm difficult for potentially dangerous people, which can undoubtedly decrease the risk of unlawful abuse of gun possession.