extracurricular activities importance in a student life

Extracurricular activities play a vital role in a student's life. Along with academics, co-curricular activities contribute to the overall development of a student. I strongly believe that extracurricular activities are essential for students. Firstly, this essay will discuss how extension activities help in boosting academic performance and in the latter half, will explain the benefit of broader social skills. Firstly, co-curricular activities help a student to develop the skills like problem-solving, memory, creativity, and critical thinking. These skills tend to increase their brain function and even permit them to concentrate. Hence, concentration and memory improve the academic performance of a student. To illustrate, a student of mine, started scoring higher grades after participating in co-curricular activities such as painting and craft making, which he was passionate about. Secondly, non-acedemic activities like sports help in promoting social skills. Most of the sports are played in teams, and they meet students with similar interests. This gives them a chance to develop their social skills, meet new friends and become more confident communicating in groups. For instance, a student who plays cricket, need to coordinate with the other team members, that promotes him to socialize with others. To conclude, extra-curricular activities encourage a student to improve his academic performance and also helps in developing social skills. Hence, academic and non-academic activities together aid to the overall development of a student.