Explain to them what a theory is (and how it is different from an opinion), what IR theories have to offer, and how to distinguish useful from poor theories.

Theory is used to explain specific event. It mainly consists of two properties, which are logical consistency and falsifiable. Logical consistency implies that a set of statements or suggestions can work simultaneously. Whilst, falsifiable is under what condition theories can be applied and when they are incapable of identifying empirical events. According to Waltz (2004), ’theory remains essential for diagnosing events, explaining their causes, prescribing responses, and evaluating the impact of different policies’. This is different from opinion. An opinion only represents personal belief or thought and has not been hypothetically tested. In International Relations field, IR theories can be applied to analyse problems, shape debate on actions or help to make a good decision accordingly. Van Evera (1997) suggested that theories will not be useful when they are incomplete. ‘A good theory is complete. It does not leave us wondering about the causal relationships at work’. For example, Marx held an assumption that private property can create struggle in social class. Thereby, he believed it should be replaced with cooperative property. The main argument of this theory is straightforwardly represents how Karl Marx’s intention to offer a resolution to problem is being explained. All the above usefulness of theories in International Relations can be implemented in numerous scenarios. During the Cold War, there was a theory called “domino theory”. It describes that if one country in South East Asia is communist, surrounded nations would fall into the similar situation as well. In general, this makes logical sense for nations to have similar ideology when they share boarders. Thus, this is an example of a good theory that is not only well-explained but also complete by itself. On the other side, there are also unhelpful theories which are inadequate at providing an explanatory power. For instance, the audience costs theory suggests that threats from democratic leaders during crises are more credible than the threats from authoritarians as democratic governor would face more consequences when they disappoint the public. Nevertheless, the theory is based on insufficient data sets. They contain many crises where there were no actual threats being made. Several threatening actions were also unofficial and have not been approved by national leaders. Besides, the outcomes of the crises did not identify clearly whether the threats were successful or not. These imply that this theory is flawed and does not clearly explain the difference in the credibility of threats