Every year several languages die out. This is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

Currently, a large number of minority languages and dialects around the world are disappearing. Since this trend has resulted in huge benefits to us, it is claimed that no efforts should be made to protect these languages. However, I disapprove of this idea. On the one hand, the loss of languages does bring us much convenience. First of all, the education of children and teenagers benefits greatly from this trend. Compared to the past, when students were often disturbed by their teachers’ dialects, which are hard to understand, and had to choose from various foreign languages, today’s students only have to master one common language in a country and learn one major foreign language. Furthermore, this trend also confers huge benefits on the communication in the business world. Less usage of dialects means fewer difficulties in the communication within one country. Meanwhile, the widespread use of several major languages on a worldwide level makes it much easier for business people to trade and negotiate with international business partners. However, we should not shrug off such a loss of languages. The existence of so many different languages does hold back our progress towards a more interconnected world. These languages, however, provide clues to various aspects of our history. For example, through understanding why money is often called Yangdian in Shanghai, China, which means innovative silver coins imported from western countries, we may get a sense of what life was like in shanghai more than a hundred years ago. Considering this, although it is alright to educate following generations with only major languages, these cultural treasures still deserve our maximum protection.