Every year several languages die out. This is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

1-11 Currently, a large number of minority languages and dialects around the world are disappearing. Since this trend has resulted in huge benefits to us, it is claimed that no efforts should be made to protect these languages. However, I disapprove of this idea. Admittedly, monolingualism can provide some convenience for our life, eliminating the language barriers in order to facilitate us to have more effective communication in both economy and culture. However, the advantages of multilingualism can overshadow these limited and short-term benefits. Firstly, according to a host of linguistic studies shown, bilingualism or even more language learning can boost our intelligence, which can improve our study skills and comprehensive capabilities. Because bilingual people are used to switching between their two languages, they are also better at switching between tasks, even if these tasks are nothing to do with language. The exchanges and transitions between different languages can make people’s brains more flexible no matter in semantics or syntax, which also make foundations for the latter intensive study for the young. Furthermore, it is well-known that languages are the carrier of cultures and their meanings are closely related to cultures, the applications of different languages no matter verbal or non-verbal forms are the evidence of our respect towards cultural diversity. However, some lesser-known languages are going extinct as fewer and fewer people use them. At the same time, our humans are also losing the ethnic cultures and valuable sources. If more protection can be taken into these languages, the local customs and rituals can be passed from generation to generation, leading to the boom of multiple facets of knowledge. Besides, it is the distinctive culture that molds different characteristics of various groups of people, paving the way for the society prosperity. In conclusion, speaking one language seems to be an attractive option for the short time, but its disadvantages obviously outweigh multilingualism.