EVALUATE THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF PARENT INVOLVEMENT.

The No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 defines parental involvement as parent participation in regular, two-way, meaningful communication involving a student’s academic learning as well as other school activities. Parents want to be involved in every facet of their child's life. As this involves their education, there are some advantages and disadvantages of parent involvement to enhance student growth. While additional help in the classroom is always welcome and at times necessary for the child’s educational growth, it can also be an open door to student distraction and parental meddling. For the most part, teachers would agree that parent involvement in the form of volunteering and supporting the children is welcomed and needed. One benefits of having parent helpers, or parents who volunteer to come into the classroom, is to help with small groups of children to focus on specific needs. Parent volunteers can help teachers with students that are behind in their academics. It can give those students the extra one-on-one help they need. Another benefit to parent involvement is that it shows kids that they are important enough to their parent or guardian to take time out of their day to come in and help. Research in parent involvement indicated that when parents involve themselves in their child's education, it can positively influence the child’s educational outcomes. Nevertheless, there is always a flip side. Unfortunately, when some parents come into the schools to work or volunteer their time, they provide more distraction and nuisance than anything else. Having too much or not the right kind of parent involvement can be more of a burden than a remedy. For example, some parents come into the school to get the "low down" on the day-to-day at the school. Educators see the negative repercussions of this type of involvement on multiple students and their families. Also, parents that volunteer end up using their time as a social hour talking to other parents or even to the teachers themselves. Consequently, having a parent in the classroom can create more distractions than the norm as they do not follow instructions and like make their own rules. There are many advantages and disadvantages of parent involvement to enhance student growth. Parents' involvement largely depends on the parent and their willingness to come into the school, do what they are asked, and leave when they are finished. Teaching young children is not an easy job, and educators need helpful, supportive parents on their quest for the success of the students’ academic achievements.