Essay topics: TPO-12 - Integrated Writing TaskJane Austen (1775-1817) is one of the most famous of all English novelists, and today her novels are more popular than ever, with several recently adapted as Hollywood movies. But we do not have many records o

The paragraph told, in spite of a famous English novelist and having several adaptations of Hollywood movies, it was not well known how Jane Austen looks like. The only accepted image was painted by her sister Cassandra, which was a painting of a teenage girl and the author claims that this painting is an actual portrait of Jane Austen. He gave various reasons to bolster his theory. First of all, the author claims that after Austen's death her family gave permission to use the portrait as an illustration. Austen family clearly recognizes the portrait and her family, over a century endorse the claim. The speaker opposes the idea by saying, this is really unconvincing that the portrait was Jane Austen. It was loosely connected to her family and the painting was hardly the teenage version of Jane Austen. Because when the picture was authorized by the family Austen was dead for seventy years and actually her family never seen her portrait before her death. In another claim, the author told that another sketch was drawn by Cassandra clearly resembles Austen's face. Even though the sketch was of adult Austen but the features are similar to Austen's teenage version. The speaker counters by saying, Austen's family is large and the sketch was not Austen’s, instead, the sketch was of Jane Austen's distant niece. And, in fact, that was the main purpose of the sketch. The third claim author represents, in another painting, even though the painting was unsigned but from the ink style, it could be inferred that the painting done by Ozias Humphrey, who often hired by Austen family. Humphrey was active when Jane Austen was the age of the girl in the painting. The speaker opposed the idea by saying, William Leg, who sold the canvas was not active in the era of Jane Austen's teenage age. Thus, the painting must be painted for an older woman instead of a younger one.