ESSAY ON GOALS, EXPERIENCE & STRONG DESIRE TO PURSUE MS DEGREE

Information is the oil of the 21st Century, and analytics is the combustion engine. I further researched on this line and found how valuable the data is today to be further worked upon. Not just did I come across exploring the outstanding applications in various range of sectors adapted by core technology companies but also how fields such as healthcare, manufacturing and several others derive business intelligence from data. I understood that for a business to flourish, it is important to understand the hits and misses and Business analytics was just the right leverage. This field aimed at deriving Business Intelligence out of raw data and in turn saving a lot of cost for companies. An opportunity to be a part of this field had immediately become my inspiration. Moving on with time, having amassed a rich 3. 5 year experience in the data & analytical industry, I strongly believe that a graduate degree from LeBow College of Business will provide me the insightful learning experience towards strengthening my existing skill sets and further flourishing in this vast and exciting field. This course will not only prepare me for a Business or a Data Analyst role but also instil in me the skills to not only comprehend what data to analyse, however to leverage that data for a strategic decision making process and be market-ready. I got an exciting opportunity to work as an Associate Analyst in my previous firm, a data analytics company focused on delivering cutting edge solutions in the ‘data to intelligence’ lifecycle to the Banking, Financial Services & Insurance (BFSI) vertical in India & UAE. I formulated, implemented and developed various reports, metadata inventories, analysed data, built predictive models, BRDs, FRDs, and so forth. Initially during my 10 months stint in this company, I faced plethora of challenges in terms of building Requirement Analysis (RA) sheets, Conflicts with Stakeholders, Undocumented processes, Data Reconciliation Issues, inexact business requirements, etc. I got adapted to these challenges subsequently by starting to analyse the data and to derive a desired business-oriented approach and solution by successfully delivering the project on time. A vital experience gained in the industry so far, my career received a boost as I delightfully set foot in CRISIL Ltd, a credit rating firm that is also majorly focused on the Business Intelligence and Data Warehousing domain. As a Software Engineer, I have gained an International experience working with multicultural business users in Abu Dhabi, UAE where I contributed towards the Global Markets Division, Retail Banking & Business Banking Division in a complete End-to-End process that involved Analytical and Technical skills, Problem Solving skills, Data Analysis, Requirement gathering as well as building User Interface Reports to monitor the daily Business as usual Activities and tracking back the portfolios for various Banking Divisions in order to perform Stress Testing over their data and provide an absolute Dashboard / Reports using tools like Oracle Business Intelligence (OBIEE), Power BI, Oracle Data Integrator, and so forth. A profound International work experience of more than three plus years at CRISIL in Abu Dhabi not only provided me an opportunity to work with global clients from diverse countries but gave me a platform to experience various cultures in our team while building robust professional connections within as well as outside the organisation. This has helped me broadly comprehend the nuances, processes and most significantly the importance of business and data analytics at a global level. A privilege of being a part of an exciting global work environment truly makes me elated to acknowledge that this very field has been my true calling. I am certain this degree will help me expand my preliminary knowledge in the field and equip myself with the necessary skill set that can take my career forward exponentially in the long run. I am particularly interested in subjects pertaining to Business Performance Analysis, Database Management Systems, Fundamentals of Business Analytics and Data Visualization which are at the core of the curriculum offered at your esteemed university. Chaojiang Wu, PhD, Assistant Professor, Decision Sciences and MIS, developed a decision model for managing risk and measurable uncertainty. The work was published on IISE Transactions, the flagship journal of the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers. This model had guided decision makers to optimally choose decision alternatives to manage risk. I look forward to being recognized as a Business Analyst in a top notch multinational company to be able to be a decision maker by managing such risks, help facilitate the decision alternatives and charter the ever changing terrain of intense competition, political uncertainty and rapidly changing technology through optimising the best of my sound international experience. As a prospective student, I bring with me a mature industry experience of working in data intensive organizations possessing an innate understanding of how data can be utilized unerringly for the benefit of the companies in the market today thus enabling differentiation among the peers.