English is common nowadays. People use it to communicate verbally as well as in writing. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Language plays an indispensable role when it comes to expressing ideas and thoughts to others. The most commonly used language, English is now widely used, both in conversing orally and writing to others. Although this aspect has both pros and cons, to my mind, it is a positive development, which I would elaborate in forthcoming paragraphs. The use of English language is mushrooming rapidly. First and foremost, English is a global language, which is accepted and welcomed worldwide. Moreover, a person speaking in this dialect is considered more knowledgeable, educated and seems to have a good social status. Secondly, English language makes it easier to convey ideas throughout the world as people across the globe readily accept the language. To add on, most of the books, articles and magazines are printed in English for the same reason. Apart from this, English language acts as a link between traders and thus, is called language of trade and business. For instance, a study claims that around 88% of the major companies of the world establish links with each other by means of English language. Thereby, the increasing use of this language has a great positive affect on society. On the other side, there are a few side-effects of this development. Firstly, increasing use of English language causes major loss to the traditional and cultural languages. In addition, the loss of such languages could ultimately lead to disappearance of some cultures. Furthermore, for some people, it could be a difficulty to express their emotions in a language other than their mother tongue. Therefore, a lack of expression is noticed among the individuals. To summarize, although the rise in use of English language has both sides-good and bad, but I firmly believe that it is a positive development for the society in the long run.