endophytes on mangrove plant

Mangroves have a lot of benefits to human beings especially to protect the coastal area from abrasion and to maintain the sustainability of marine resources that live below them. The loss of valuable mangroves have been reported by many researchers (Polidoro et. al. , 2010; Sahu et. al. , 2015). One of the mangroves that is decreasing in numbers is Avicennia marina. Habitat loss and climate change are two of some causes of their decline (Duke et. al. , 2010; hastuti et. al. , 2012). Furthermore, overexploitation is often faced by this mangrove because almost all of the plant’s parts are valuable to humans, from its trunk to fruit. In addition, some diseases were also reported attacking A. marina, making it more vulnerable to death (Osorio et. al. , 2017). Endophytes are microorganisms that live inside the plants that build a mutualistic relationship with the host plants. Reports suggested the broad utilization of endophytes such as to increase the plant’s resistance towards pathogens, to promote the plant’s growth, to produce valuable compounds used in medications (Gouda et. al. , 2016), as well as to combat plant’s pathogens (Nair and Padmavathy, 2014). Thus, the exploration of endophytes in mangroves increases their possibility to grow more rapidly and strongly to cope with their exploitation and diseases. Other than that, the endophytes might be beneficial to other plants as well. In such a way, endophytes extracted from mangrove can be used as biocontrol and growth promoter (Rai et. al. , 2014) not only in themselves but also in other plants. Reintroduction endophytes is a way to observe how they can live inside the host and how the host responds to their existence. This method also gives an opportunity to increase the life quality of the plants. Spontaneous mutants are mutants that occur spontaneously during replication in nature because of certain environmental challenge (MacPhee and Ambrose, 1996). Spontaneous mutants differ from the wild type because they have resistance to certain or some antibiotic(s) which then can be used to track the colonisation of reintroduction endophytes inside the host plants. There were three endophytes extracted from A. marina’s leaf tissue that collected from Ekowisata Mangrove Wonorejo Surabaya. These endophytes were characterized by using biochemical and molecular tests and then they were known as Bacillus subtilis (from 2 different strains) and Bacillus sp. Reintroduction of these endophytes to the host plant aims to know their ability to colonise the plant. To track the endophytes colonisation, spontaneous mutants are applied.