Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

There are split opinions regarding candidate's job application where employers often asked about their personal information. Some people believe that this information will be beneficial and effective, whereas another group of thinkers support not to reveal their private documentation. However, both has its prons and cons. Therefore, before commenting on my decision, both the opinions would be discussed. Focusing on the first view, the most important argument the supporters put forward is to share a certain level of information with your employer, which helps to set expectations and provide an insight to the interviewer. This is because a lot of organizations invest heavily on their employees training and certain skill development. For instance, if a potential candidate plans to get married and leave the organization within 6 months of joining, it would be a dead investment for the company. Furthermore, general discussions like hobbies and interests help to break the tension, which could be used to set the right tone for the interview moving forward. Hence, having healthy conversation is beneficial. On the contrary, the second view suggest that sharing personal information is an intrusion to their private life. This could be due to not knowing the interviewer beforehand, and when ask to share their interests, hobbies, or marital status, it could pose an unprofessional situation for the interviewee. For example, a recent survey showed 34% employees being harassed by a senior ot peer. Hence, a lot of people cut down such conversations at ground level and maintain professionalism throughout. In conclusion, I firmly believe that a healthy personal conversation is essential to relax interviewees and provide an opportunity for the employer to understand your expectations.