Many people today choose to travel abroad to gain a further education. Why is this happening? Do you think that this trend will continue in the future?

Attending a university in another country is much more common today that it was ten or twenty years ago. However, while receiving a degree from a foreign institute might help further people’s careers today, I don’t believe that this trend will continue much further into the future. There are a number of reasons why a student would further their education in another country. First of all, it might be the case that there is no equivalent degree course in the student’s native country. This could be true for those who live in small countries or tiny island nations, such as Malta and the Maldives, which have few or no universities, or for those who want to study for a highly specialised degree like Osteopathy or Art Therapy. However, perhaps the main reason why people study abroad is prestige. In many countries, a degree from America or Europe is viewed as much more respected than one from a local university. As a result, students with international degrees have more job opportunities and the chance to climb the career ladder faster once they return home. However, despite these factors, I believe that the trend for studying abroad will soon end. The fact is that year-by-year there are more educational opportunities around the world. Whereas 40 years ago the difference in educational standards between the developed and developing world was vast, today the gap is closing rapidly. Therefore, I predict that in the next 50 years, there will be almost no difference between them. Moreover, thanks to the Internet, people don’t have to travel vast distances to gain knowledge from foreign universities. Instead, they can learn by distance for a fraction of the cost. In conclusion, many students gain degrees abroad because it gives them prestige in their home country. However, because of rising educational standards in developing countries and access to online learning, I believe that this trend will soon come to an end.