Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

While searching for jobs, providing personal data is must. One has to answer professional as well as personal questions to find a suitable job. While some hold the view that this information is unnecessary as it promotes discrimination and ignorance of skills, others feel it is important for building team bonding and also assigning roles that suits the best. Firstly, skills and experience make an employee successful. Knowledge and quality of work should be taken into consideration rather than his marital status which has no impact on the efficacy of the person. To illustrate, the owner of one of the largest e-commerce company Amazon is married and is running the business successfully. Secondly, such information creates a sense of disparity among the colleagues. Groups are formed on the basis of whether a person id married or unmarried, single or divorced. For example, some people look down upon single or divorced parents. Thus, to maintain a healthy environment such details should be avoided. On the contrary, employees with similar interests get along well. It is the common hobbies and likes that bring unknown people together creating a team bonding and friendly ambience such as, colleagues having interest in dramatics or dance gives them a topic to discuss on and share their views. Furthermore, to appreciate the forte of the employee is the duty of the company. If not known, it would be shelved and not embraced. To illustrate, a person with interest in numbers might be assigned a role of a creative designer or vice versa. Thus, knowing in advance can prove beneficial. In my opinion, some information is important for a company to run smoothly while some should be made redundant. Knowing the interests and likes of people beforehand can help in binding team together and bringing the best out of them by giving them roles of their interest on the other hand, knowing the details of marital status can give birth to differences among team members.