Employers should pay young people the same salary as older colleagues doing the same job.

Many people believe that workers should do be paid the same salary whether they are young staff or older groups when doing the similar job. In my opinion, I totally disagree with the idea due to following reasons. Although it is claimed that staff should be paid according to good performance rather than age, I would argue that they should be paid on working experience basis. Take for example politicians in their later working life, they can judge the national situation prompt to a response to burning issues. They deserve to receive more salary. Moreover, older colleagues as an asset for companies, and which can be imparted to young generations to help them to be more productive. It also can exhibit the equality of company’s salary systems to motivate new staff to obtain promotion. Secondly, employers should pay higher salary to the older workers, for they have made contribution to the company with their whole life, so they are worthy to receive more priority salary and subsidies. If young people gained the same salary as the older, it may lead to an awkward situation that would be unfair for senior groups. Also, young people may lose motivation to work hard and to get promotion, which may lead to unfavorable outcome for the development of the company. Therefore, old workers deserve to receive higher salary. In conclusion, I disagree with the view that employers should pay the same salary for young people and older colleagues doing the same job. It seems plausible that the business should pay salary based on the employees’ result and merit. However, I am convinced that the importance of being experienced in working environment cannot be neglected and this is known as a key factor to keep them staying long with the companies by paying more bonuses for the older.