What are the advantages and disadvantages of being bilingual?

Nobody would dispute the fact that one of the most conspicuous trends in the 21st century is being bilingual. Yet, the issue of whether the drawbacks of this trend are eclipsed by its benefits, has become an integral part of current never-ending debate among people. It is my opinion that although bilingualism has a myriad of undeniable pitfalls, its advantages are more significant. Therefore, for the purpose of this essay I shall confine the investigation to some merits and downsides of this trend. The first imperative point to note is that one of the main benefits of being able to speak two languages fluently is its opportunities. In other words, the people that have been raised bilingual are more likely to find a well paid job more easily than the one's who are monolingual. In fact, legion of individuals in this competitive world suffer from the scarcity of a job with a sufficient salary, since the modern world is becoming hectic day-by-day, and learning more languages tend to be the pre-requisite of this world. Moreover, bilinguals have a great deal of chances to work abroad. Despite a huge number of positive sites of bilingualism, its demerits should not be overlooked. Most importantly, bilingualism is generally deemed as an apparent delay in language acquisition that engender possible decrease in grammatical systems. For instance, variables of the rules of that languages as well as they are more likely to mix these languages during their performance. Additionally, bilingual persons are believed to have low IQ rather than the monolingual ones. In light of above mentioned facts, one can reach a conclusion that even though bilingualism can influence on person's grammar, it tends to be effective for individuals. Thus, it is highly recommended to study different languages in this developed world.