Employer sometimes ask people applying for job for personal for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful while others disagree. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

Knowing hobbies, interests and marital status of an individual by a prospective employer is considered to be relevant for the job requirement, in contrast many people think it to be irrelevant. I agree that in most of the cases it is important for the employer to know about these details of an individual. Understanding an individual better helps the employer hire right employees for their organization. Knowledge of hobbies, interests and marital status tells a lot about an individual including his attitude, area of interest and the way he/she spends most of his time. For example, for a technology design role, a person engaged in gadgets for his interest might be a right fit. Similarly, a marathoner might be a right fit to handle a job which needs patience. Hence, to align a person better with the organization these details seem important. Asking for personal information especially marital status is considered to be invasive by few people. They consider that marriage is a personal decision of an individual and it should not shape the professional career of an individual. There have been instances when married person with same set of skills has performed a job better than an unmarried person with the same set of skills and otherwise. Therefore, it is considered irrelevant and trivial. In my opinion, in a world of corporate citizenship where organizations are striving hard to hire right people, the information seems relevant. Today, organizations are not only cubicles with working spaces, but social entities with a set of cultures and values often shaped by employees. For example, an organization in order to make an equal space for LGBTQ people might give the community an advantage. To conclude, understanding a prospective employee better through these information helps the employer select right people for the job role and organization.