Emloyers Sometimes ask people applying for Jobs for Personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Other disagree

In today's world where there is an immense competition, seeking a job itself is a gigantic milestone of everyone life's, due to the fact of which big Corporate seek every type of information from the candidate, which sometime leads to the suspicious nature for the firm in mind of candidate. An extremely recent survey conducted by distinguish University XYZ, the firms personal questions such as martial status, hobbies and area of interest found very relevant in judging the candidate skills and capabilities of performing the task. Fore. g. if a person who is having interests in history and travelling then the statics shows he/she is the most desirable seeker for the tourism industry. Although its martial status also matter as it requires numerous travelling domestically and even international. However, there is a paradox for the above situation, where organization who took this instruction could be judge-mental on the deserving person, even if he/she is more qualified for the job and there are a number of situations where firm asked for irrelevant knowledge like what is the candidate father occupation? If mother is housewife/Working? Number of siblings are there in the family? A couple of months prior to, when I went through the similar experience. In the application form, in personal information section, a question sound like how much is your family earning. And that's make me tiny uncomfortable as I feel that the question was irrelevant for that Job profile. Based on the above information and example, I feel information which only link to the candidate alone is relevant as it's help organization to explore the person, on the contrary seeking family detail's should be avoided as it's make person uncomfortable and harassed due to the fact all of us are not from the same background. It is often argued that requiring / asking an applicant to provide additional personal information such as hobbies or marital status is beneficial for the employer; however, many people disagree with this view and claim that this information is useless and holds no value. This essay will elaborate on both points of view and present my opinion. On the one hand, there are grounds to believe that employers need more than just the professional information to better assess their prospective candidates. With increasing emphasis on collaborative work culture and need for every employee to fit into the team dynamics, collecting extracurricular and personal information will help the employer select the right candidates and match them with right opportunities. For instance, several applicants may be deemed fit for a marketing position based on their qualification and work history. Those among them having special interests in traveling and meeting people are certainly more suited for this position and an employer needs to ask about their hobbies to figure this out. Nonetheless, many of those who disagree with this argument doubt the authenticity of such information provided in the job applications. They believe that the job applicants tend to make up some hobbies and interests just to impress the employers. According to a survey conducted by a student group from London School of Economics, only 40% of the respondents of a survey gave genuine answers when asked about their extracurricular interests. In conclusion, while some are still doubtful of the veracity / truthfulness of information provided by candidates for a job position, it is believed that collecting this information greatly helps an employer in better decision making. In my opinion, the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages, and hence, the more information an employer gathers about an applicant, the better the decision making process will be.