Effects of overpopu; ation in big cities

These days, overpopulation is a concerning problem in many big cities, which leads to some following negative effects. The first to mention is environmental degradation. For instance, the increase in private vehicles’ usage results in a huge amount of greenhouse gas emitted into the atmosphere, which contributes directly to air pollution. Besides, as the urbanization process is developing, the number of factories and power plants is rising dramatically. They often dump untreated wastewater or toxic chemicals into rivers, so water resources are extremely polluted. Secondly, overpopulation causes an imbalance in the inhabitants of rural and urban areas. People are moving to cities because they believe that there is a greater number of job opportunities with higher pay in the cities. This migration leads to a lack of housing and workforce redundancy in cities while the opposite is true in the countryside. Another effect is the rise in unemployment. When a city becomes overpopulated, there are not enough jobs to provide for such an enormous number of people; as a result, people find another way to survive and satisfy their necessities, including theft. This is the reason for the high crime rate in cities. To conclude, overcrowding has many detrimental impacts on society and the environment, so actions should be taken to solve this problem.