Effect of the COVID-19 pandmic on people lives

Humanitarian crises, by all their forms, have defined our history. Natural crises are epidemics, earthquakes, typhoons, tsunamis, droughts, and floods, climate changes, and finally the one we are living at the time being, the COVID-19 pandemic. While wars, invasions, immigrations, starvation, and inequality issues are some of the forms of man-made crises. The common attribute of those crises is the losses in health, security, economics, resources, and most importantly loss of lives. In late December 2019, the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) emerged in Wuhan, China, , resulting in an outbreak in many cities in China. On March 11, 2020, WHO has declared the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak a global pandemic. The virus continues to infect populations worldwide. To date, the World Health Organization (WHO) has reported an average of 223 million confirmed cases of COVID-19 and more than 4, 5 million deaths. The outcome of the Covid-19 pandemic is unpredictable at the time being due to the ongoing emergence of new cases, inadequate vaccine coverage, and also the emergence of the new variants of the virus. All of those factors are hindering our getting out of the pandemic tunnel.