Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

The number of supermarkets in any area are on a continuous increase which is very alarming for the local shops that are operating there. It has become very difficult for these small businesses to stand against the competition by big departmental stores. Few people also fear that if these shops shutdown this could lead to the extinction of local communities. Although I agree to some extent but the benefits these supermarkets bring to people are enormous. We have seen that these small shops in our area has their own societal value as it plays the role of community centers in small localities, hence are not just limited to being a shops providing everyday items to the people. It an avenue of interaction between the people living in the same environment and being concerned about their closure is not abnormal because it is the important part of their social life. For instance, elderly people go to these stores, stand there and interact with different people and bring the positive mental effect of this back home. Similarly, youngsters have these stations as their meeting point each day. Hence one cannot reject the notion that these shops in our area are the essence of local communities and are under threat by the pace at which supermarkets are expanding. But we have to accept that big supermarkets and departmental stores offers a lot to us as customers, from giving competitive prices, more variety to choose from and above all a comfortable environment where we can go as a family and shop together. All this has made grocery shopping a pleasant experience even for those who never enjoyed it. For example, stores like Metro supermarket and Imtiaz store are always cluttered with people because it has provided the ease of shopping to people and they have shifted from buying supplies daily to monthly grocery shopping. Although these grocery stores give fierce competition to local shops which may result in their complete shut down because they can never compete with them either on the prices or on the experience.