Due to modern technology, it is now possible to eliminate genetic diseases and even select for specific traits by modifying the DNA of embryos. It has been argued that this kind of technology is unethical and should not be used. However, another view is that this is actully a step towards in human progress.

Since the turn of the 21 century, many aspects of our lives have changed due to the advent of technology, and genetics is no exception. While some argue that technology made it possible to find a cure for genetic diseases and created opportunities for choosing desirable traits for a future kid,   I agree with those who believe that such purposes of usage of technology is unethical. On the one hand, new technological devices made an analysis of chromosomes and DNA possible. Two decades ago extracting genes responsible for specific qualities from cells would sound as absurd. Nevertheless, now humanity is able to create vaccines against pestilences such as AIDS, Crimea-Congo fever or find a cure for cancer. In addition, the introduction of technology into genetic engineering is supposed to reduce the risk of becoming disabled for some newborn kids with hereditary diseases and prevent mutations during the embryonal period of the fetus, and help them to become full-fledged members of society. On the other hand, despite listed above, intervening genetics of human via technology may increase the gap between rich and poor. In fact, delivering a perfect kid without innate shortcomings and even ‘accessory traits will never be affordable for poor families. From a psychological perspective, individuals with no ‘special’ traits, who have a poor background,   would feel miserable in face of representatives of wealthier families, who possess ‘talent’ acquired by genetic interference. It is important to note that, scientists made several attempts of creating synthetic embryo using available tools and start a new branch of biology, namely Cloning. The initial intentions of such a decision were creating clones for replacing ‘real’ people in dangerous spheres such as mining, military and dealing with radioactive waste. However, this is against the concern of the UN regarding human rights. Moreover, not only would it be illegal, but also not humane. In conclusion, although the technology was beneficial for fighting murderous and genetic illnesses, some of its purposes are unacceptable and unconscious.