Due to globalization, supermarket have rapidly expanded its functioning in several countries. However, many small local busimesses are unable to compete. Some think that closure of local business would result into death of local artisans and products.

With an accelerated pace of globalization, numerous large-scale retail houses have commenced their operations in several nations. But, this is giving a stiff competition to small and medium scale shopkeepers. (Accordingly) few state that traditional product would perish if these cottage industries are not boosted. I have a partial perspective on this statement as justified below. Firstly, artistic items entail an evergreen demand which does not die due to the presence of foreign products- As these products are having a peculiar pattern of manufacturing, no amount of technological advancement can copy it. For instance, pickle making process in India is a manual one. It is solely based on human skill rather than a machine. Hence, it is exported at a very high cost. Yet with the advent of massive supermarkets, a cosmic culture has been developed which offers a variety of choices in many countries. As people have an array of products to choose from, they might avoid domestic items in place of foreign commodities. Moreover history has quoted examples when foreign invasion like the British industrial revolution resulted in large poverty and extinction of artisan's jobs resulting into a strong opposition for supermarkets. To my mind it is actually the value of product which will raise its demand or die eventually. It does not matter whether it is sold by supermarkets or local artisan themselves. Therefore, my personal conclusion is that augment of supermarket is not at the cost of domestic product. In fact, it may raise a foreign demand if these stores supply it too. Yet, the government should market such traditional items to give it a brand image and help the local people in selling it.