Due to globalization, people nowadays no longer completely rely on locally grown food as they can now purchase and consume food from various nations over the world.

Due to globalization, people nowadays no longer completely rely on locally grown food as they can now purchase and consume food from various nations over the world. Though this phenomenon has some benefits as it widens our freedom as clients, there are still some severe disadvantages that make it a dangerous trend. Today one can easily enjoy meat or fruits from other continents, something once considered extravagant only a few decades ago, and this expands the range of choices for average families. For instance, some individuals have always been tired of the tropical fruits grown in their cities such as bananas and jackfruits, so wintry fruit like blueberries are produced in the USA, which is extremely unique and exciting to eat. Moreover, it also fosters international trade, helps many farmers enter the international market, and assists countries to fight for their food scarcity. On the flip side, It is undeniable that people have some concerns about consuming food from overseas. The issue is the possible health impacts of preservatives, which are chemicals used to protect foods over an extended period. They are harmful to our health, and people are purchasing those items at a higher price. Importers cannot guarantee the freshness and proper nutrition of imported food. In conclusion, I believe that the increase in the consumption of imported food can open up a better array of choices for our diets, yet its effects on our health should also be taken into great consideration.