Do you think there will be a greater choice of food available in shops in the future, or will there be less choice? What effects has modern technology had on the way food is produced? How important is it for a country to be able to grow all the food it need

Many countries have a staff shortage in medicine and other fields requiring a great deal of training. At the same term, there may be a lack of unskilled and semi-skilled workers, like cleaners or drivers. The gap in skilled professions is partly due to time and money: the training for a nurse e or doctor takes several years and is very expensive. These are features that do not bode well for people coming from the developing world, since interests in this part of the world, is more reliant on short term benefits, rather than the long wait that ensues after enrolling in protracted and extended courses. Future needs cannot be predicted very accurately, so it is hard to ensure that enough people are trained. Many individuals and countries simply cannot afford the training. Some governments have tackled that problem by determining what subjects students should study. This ensures that enough lawyers, teachers and so on are trained. One drawback, however, is that it ignores the differences in people's s motivation and aptitude and may mean that people will have to settle for Jobs that they are just not made for- for example, someone who might have been an excellent dentist has become a mediocre accountant instead. A shortage may also result from variation in the cost of living in my country, only a handful of the public sector employees, such as police officers, can afford accommodation in the more affluent regions, resulting in ever-increasing staff shortages in those areas. The problem can be alleviated, though only to a limited extent, by subsidizing housing for certain workers. As the level of education rises, fewer people are willing to take on menial work. The unpleasantness of such work could be recognized through higher wages, although this would require a transformation of the country ' s economy, a whole. To conclude, shortages are probably inevitable, although fields and geographical areas where they occur are likely to change from time to time