Do you think extra-curricular activities are important in a student’s life? ”

Other than academics, there are other activities that are crucial in a learner’s routine. In my opinion, co-curricular activities are imperative in any child’s life for all round development. In this essay, the benefits of these activities and its positive effects will be highlighted. All work and no play, makes Jack a dull boy- a well-known proverb that totally resonates to the point that only academics may result in giving a book worm to the world. What about fitness, an active mind, a healthy body, and unleashing other inborn talents a child possesses? Co-curricular activities like games, dance, drama, art, etc. elevates a child’s personality; it pulls out the hidden talent and brings variety in a student’s life to explore and identify his/her strengths, polish it and achieve success. Ex: Sachin Tendulkar could not excel in academics, but there is none like him in cricket- co-curricular helped him build a career. Solely academics, restricts a child’s abilities and can demotivate those who cannot master in it. These learners do not end up tapping their motor-skills to a large extent and it leads to frustration and boredom in their lives. To be energetic, one needs physical activities, fun, play, imagination, relaxation, etc. In conclusion, academics and extra-curricular activities are two sides of one coin and hence co-curricular activities must not be ignored as it plays a dominant role in a student’s life. It brings in all the above benefits listed, resulting in development of not only the mind, but also the body and soul of a child.