DO YOU THINK CONSUMER SHOULD AVOID OVER PACKED PRODUCTS OR IT IS RESPONSIBILITY OF PRODUCER TO AVOID EXTRA PACKAGING OF PRODUCTS? ” GIVE YOUR VIEWS OR ANY RELEVANT EXAMPLE WITH YOUR OWN EXPERIENCE.

Everything that we do today or has been doing has both the negative and positive sides to it. The packaging of a product, though looks like a small thing, as well has two sides attached to it. Whether a product is for consumption or utility, comes with a packaging large or small. The packing plays a pivotal role to make a product reach to the end consumer in the right way. The ultimate need and responsibility of packaging should be the producer because they are the one who are doing this action. The over packing has a negative impact on the environment which is much larger than it’s advantages. To begin with the environmental impact, the high use of plastic material to make a product look bigger than the actual size is detrimental to nature. Plastic’s in any form takes centuries before they degrade into the soil. If made to burn, they emit several toxic gasses which cause damage to the humans and environment alike. Having said that, I see that at times it becomes a requirement to over package a product for various reasons. The reasons being, protecting the product from getting infested with bacteria’s which can cause several diseases to humans. Also to add longer shelf life for a product or safer transportation to the end consumer channels such supermarkets or retail shops. In the end, I would like to conclude that over packing of a product should depend on the need based rather than doing so for the sake of marketing. This is where the producer should consider the impact on the environment and mankind while deciding on the packaging of a product.