A good leader should spend more time listening to other people's ideas than taking his or her own ideas.

It is argued whether the death penalty should be accorded to violent criminals by the court of law. In my personal opinion, I agree that hardcore criminals should be sentenced to capital punishment. In this essay, I provide my point of view with examples to substantiate my opinion. In order to reduce the instances of murder and rape, which are on the rise across the world, individuals who are committing these crimes should be subjected to the death penalty. A quick trial and speedy justice for all those who are affected will increase people's trust in the criminal justice system. It also acts as a deterrent for criminals from committing any serious offences in the future. For example, the quick trial and hanging of four criminals involved in the gang-rape of a college student in New Delhi, India has resulted in the reduction of the rape cases being reported to decrease to a two year low. The threat of terrorism is on the rise across the world. Radical ideologies have ensured that there is a constant supply of terrorist willing to sacrifice their life in order to cause mayhem and bring cities and countries to a standstill. The most effective hindrance for all the radicalized youth is the threat of capital punishment. The quick trail and hanging of Ajmal Kasab, the lone terrorist caught during the Mumbai terror attack has acted as an effective disincentive and has prevented many radicalized youth from taking up arms against the country. To conclude, capital punishment is a necessary evil that is required in these times of radicalism. It should be accorded to individuals committing serious crimes, thereby acting as an active hindrance.