Grades encourage students to learn.

The topic whether grades encourage students to learn or not is debatable since ages. Today we are living in the highly competitive era where marks are one of the deciding factors to judge student’s capability. I agree with the statement that grades motivate students to learn. I am having this opinion because of the following reasons that i will explain in the following paragraph. First of all, i believe that highly competitive exams have put much stress on students to score good. Students study because they need to crack the exam for their better future. Most of the students want to get admission in high profile courses like medical, engineering and the list is endless. So they know that if they don’t score high, they will lose the chance to get admission in their desirable courses. Hence they learn more and try to obtain good grades. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. My brother wanted to be an engineer, during his preparation days he used to study for around 18 hours a day. However he didn’t like to study in his school days. But the pressure to get admission in one of the renown university for engineering he studied so hard. Secondly, i think that in our society the scores of the student decides his intelligibiity. The more marks the student achieve in the exams the more the student is smart and intelligent according to people. This thinking of the society gives impetus to the children to study more. Because they think that if they get good scores they will be appreciated by their family, teachers, relatives etc. For instance, during my school days i used to compare my scores with my elder sister my sister was intelligent and always got marks higher than me. And she was praised by my family. So i also started learning more and study more to get high grades. To sum up with i am of opinion that grades encourage students to learn to get succeeded in their career and to prove themselves more clever than others.