It is easy to bring up a child now than it was 50 years earlier. Give reasons.

In the modern day western world, especially in the big cities, shopping is becoming increasingly popular as a leisure activity amongst the young adults. This essay will discuss some of its most common reasons, such as higher disposable incomes and easy availability of cheaper goods in the big city. This essay will also argue why this is a positive development in today's world. In many western countries, young adults, mainly millennials, have high disposable incomes owing to their well-paid jobs. This helps them spend more on shopping, mainly apparel and fast-moving consumer goods. In addition, the number of malls and supermarkets has been increasing significantly in the last decade or so, giving a very easy access to affordable and good quality products. Due to these two factors combined, people have started considering shopping as one of the leisure activities that they pursue in their free times or over the weekends. For instance, a recent survey report states that more than 70% of young adults in big cities visit malls on the weekends for shopping. The trend that an increasing number of young people are spending on shopping has created a high demand of various products in the market. This in turn has created more jobs and has been contributing to a stronger global economy. For example, the countries that manufacture apparel are seeing a higher demand of their products these days from the western nations to support their enhanced demand. Moreover, frequent shopping helps people keep up with the newest fashion trends, helping them boost their self-confidence. Thus, shopping, as a leisure activity, has positive impacts on the societies as well as the economies. To conclude, many of the western countries are witnessing an increasing number of shoppers who buy things in their free times. This shift is being observed due to the emerging mall-culture and higher disposable incomes. Also, in my opinion, this is a positive development in the modern world as it is contributing to better societies and stronger economies.