It is easier to bring up a child now than it was 50 years earlier. Give reasons.

Nowadays, university education is essential for getting a well paying job. For this reason, many people believe that government should make university education free for every student; irrespective of their educational background. I personally tend to agree with this statement, and in this essay I will support my views with examples. Firstly, every year government spends huge amount of taxpayer money to maintain and develop universities across India. For example, it has been estimated that, the education department of India spends close to Rs. 50 million every year on infrastructure and maintenance for IIT's across India. As a result of this spending, IIT's have become one of the premium engineering institutes in the world with world class labs and faculty. Apart from this, every year due to inflation and other market situations cost of maintenance is going up drastically On the other hand, the cost of university education has gone up drastically over the past few years. For instance, the average fee for a three year graduate course in an Indian university was approximately Rs. 20, 000 in the early 2000's, but this has incrementally increased over the years, and currently, the two year graduate course cost around Rs. 50, 000. As a result, more and more students; especially from the financially backward families are dropping the idea of university education and looking at other options. Having looked at both sides of the argument, in my view, instead of completely waiving of the fee, the government should look at subsidising the university fee for student coming from economically backward families