Discuss the problems of using plastic bags and what can be done to reduce them?

These days our world is facing enormous environmental issues. Among them plastic bags are one of the crucial items that pose a great threat to life on earth as well as marine life. Therefore, many people believe prohibiting them. I strongly agree with the above notion and the reasons for bolstering my opinion will be elaborated below. Firstly, molded bags have a detrimental effect on the environment due to the fact that they are not easily biodegradable. Which means that they might take a hundred of years to get decomposed if littered on earth. Consequently, this does not allow the rain water to percolate through the ground making it even more drier. For example, a recent research conducted by Indian hydrologists illustrates that 60% of areas where ground water crisis happens is owing to the accumulation of plastics under the soil layer. On the other hand, plastics can be recycled but only to a certain extent and the byproduct resulting from them will get mixed up in the ocean. Eventually, it creates a hazardous effect to the marine life too. For instance, it is found by the ocean department scientists that tiny plastic particles resulting from the recycling process are consumed by the fishes and turtles that subsequently destroys the digestive system thus kills them. To conclude, for the aforementioned reasons, people should have awareness on reducing the usage of plastic sack alongside they can switch to paper covers or cloth carriers. Thus, This act will contribute to the mitigation of plastic related problems and will ensure booming of a better earth.