Despite knowing about biodiversity's importance for a long time, human activity has been causing massive extinctions of different species.

Despite knowing about biodiversity's importance for a long time, human activity has been causing massive extinctions of different species. This essay will examine the main causes of loss of biodiversity and possible solutions which can lead to amelioration of the situation. The two main causes of species extinction are change of their habitats and overexploitation of natural resources. When humans artificially transform the environment, they destroy vegetation and animal's natural habitat. For instance, to build new roads, people are cutting down the trees and cementing the soil, altering the environment. Because of that, lot of species are dying out. Also, when the activities connected with capturing and harvesting a natural resource are too intense in a particular area, the resource becomes exausted. For example, too frequent fishing does not leave enough time for fish to reproduce and makes them disappear. In other words, human activities deplete local flora and fauna and cause loss of biodiversity. Some possible solutions to this problem are protecting natural areas and promoting awareness among people. By protecting natural areas where human activity is limited and avoiding overexploitation of its resources, we can save the environment and prevent species from dying out. Moreover, next step in fighting biodiversity loss is informing the general population about the dangers of this issue. This way, people will be more conscious of the environment and would not overuse or destroy its resources. To conclude, people's activities that change the environment have negative impact on world's ecosystem. However, we can significantly lessen the extinction of animals and plants by protecting natural areas and enlightening people as to this problem.